Police Brutality in Cedar Rapids?

Police use pepper spray to gain compliance” What really happened?
Levi Roberts claims the media has it all wrong!
Christy Aumer/SourceMedia Group News (The Gazette) reported that on February 13, 2013  “Roberts was placed under arrest for intoxication, and would not obey officer’s directions to place his hands behind his back. Officers were able to handcuff him; however, Sloan then ran at officers and attempted to get them to release Roberts. Officer Kevin Lukan was pushed, causing him to have injury to his hands and knees, police said. Sgt. Cristy Hamblin said the injuries were minor, and he was not transported to a hospital.”

CRSmells, Ajai Dittmar, I was poking around the KCRG Facebook page in the “posts by others” when I saw a posting with the video above. I reached out to both Sloan and Roberts but only Roberts replied. I asked him what happened and this is what he said: “You notice that KCRG keeps taking my post off their FB page. They ran an untrue story about me and don’t want to report the truth. I didn’t need to be falsely arrested, assaulted by police, witness them assault my friend and then slander me in the paper.”
“I was the passenger in the back seat passenger’s side of the white SUV. Cops approached me first and asked for ID. I asked why and they stated “because I said so!” I told them I would give them my name and DOB but unless they explained why they are detaining me

Guardsmen receive pepper spray training at Gitmo

Guardsmen receive pepper spray training at Gitmo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

that you will not provide ID”. “I was charged with public intoxication as well. I hadn’t even finished my one drink at the bar. I asked for a breathalyzer and was denied one. When I was allowed to at the jail I blew .001″
“If you look closely at the video in the very beginning when it starts you can see the cop grab her hair and bash her head to the ground”.
In a phone conversation I had with Roberts he claimed that the officer was the one who was being aggressive. And that he has spoken to Brent Long, with the Cedar Rapids Police Department‘s Internal Affairs and has gotten no where. What does Roberts want out of this? ” I’m not trying to get paid or anything. I just wanted this officer fired, suspended, reprimanded or something. Anything to prevent him from doing this to other innocent citizens. All we have are our basic rights. People should not be punished for knowing their rights and using those rights to say no to police. We don’t have to anything a cop says just because they “say so””.
The public intoxication charges were dismissed but an additional charge of “harassment of a public employee” because he posted the video evidence to Facebook. In the video you can clearly see that Levi was not interfering with official acts and that his head was slammed onto the police car after he was handcuffed.

About Ajai Dittmar

There is nothing 'radical' about wanting to save your historical neighborhood! There is nothing 'negative' for wanting an 'outside investigation' done a public service that has had a lot of embarrassing news, especially when they don't do their jobs! There is nothing 'odd' about wanting politicians to uphold the Constitution they swear to uphold when they are sworn into office! Follow @sibzianna View all posts by Ajai Dittmar

2 responses to “Police Brutality in Cedar Rapids?

  • Jay Burken

    Ugh. Cedar Rapids cops (or really any cops) are so dumb. They get this big head just because they are a cop and they think they are all-powerful. Plus, I see all of these people driving around town doing the stupidest things- running lights, stop signs, almost hitting pedestrians, on their phones- and cops are never there to stop them. I lose respect for their authority when I hear about things like this.

  • Michael J Dillon

    is not the first time things like this has happened a lot of times you don’t hear anything because they victims are threaten by the very ones who swore to up hold the law and when you report it either nothing happens or your harassed a lot more so it doesn’t do any good to report it locally
    i know a couple of times it has been reported to the duty officer and the mayor but nothing ever happened other then being constantly harassed

Feedback and Comments encouraged

