Elementary Schools are facing closings in Cedar Rapids Core Neighborhoods

So if I want to know anything I have to pay for it? This is information they should have at their fingertips!

Cedar Rapids Activist

Schools in the core neighborhoods are facing closings and the community does not want them closed. The signs that line the streets in Cedar Rapids on both sides of the river speak in volumes. People do not want their neighborhood schools closed.

I do agree that Monroe needs to be closed. While I am not against open enrollment I am not in favor of shipping only kindergarteners to this school when there is several high crime apartment buildings across the street. Many of these children could attend these schools that face closings. I wanted my oldest children to go to Harrison Elementary when we lived on the NE side of town fifteen years ago. I was able to enroll my children in Kindergarten at Harrison and I got them to school every day at my expense—not the expense of the taxpayers.

Now, this building going up across the street from…

View original post 1,749 more words

About Ajai Dittmar

There is nothing 'radical' about wanting to save your historical neighborhood! There is nothing 'negative' for wanting an 'outside investigation' done a public service that has had a lot of embarrassing news, especially when they don't do their jobs! There is nothing 'odd' about wanting politicians to uphold the Constitution they swear to uphold when they are sworn into office! Follow @sibzianna View all posts by Ajai Dittmar

3 responses to “Elementary Schools are facing closings in Cedar Rapids Core Neighborhoods

  • Lacy Altheimer

    Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write once more very soon!

  • Craig Augustine

    Well the ADULTS got their new building …. at Ellis Rd and Edgewood Rd.

    Priorities ya know.

    • Ajai Dittmar

      You know? They got that building without much resistance from the people but they aren’t going to be able to run it unless they close schools! JERKS! Oh and now the lady is gone for the weekend?!

Feedback and Comments encouraged

