Local Leaders & Staff Lied About Having $ for Buyouts

Local Leaders & Staff Lied About Having $$ for Buyouts
by Lisa Kuzela, August 9, 2011

I’ve said this before, but hopefully a new audience will lead to something…at least to voting the right way in November and beyond.

Remember when the City kept saying they didn’t have money for buyouts? The State DID have the funds, but no one here made it a priority to use HUD’s CDBG funds toward our buyout need!

Just a bit of history:
1) HUD’s initial allocation (of CDBG funds) under the Supplemental Appropriations Act, 2008 granted the State of Iowa $85,000,000. This came from Federal Register /Vol. 73, No.177 / September 11, 2008 Notice (HUD’s Docket No. FR-5250-N-01). These funds were used for Iowa’s State Action Plan #1.

2) The 1st allocation of the Second 2008 Allocation granted the State of Iowa $125,297,142. This came from Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 29 / February 13, 2009 Notice (HUD’s Docket No. FR-5256-01). These funds were used for Iowa’s State Action Plan #2.

3) The 2nd allocation to the Second 2008 Act Allocation granted the State of Iowa $516,7713,868. This came from Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 156 / August 14, 2009 Notice (HUDs Docket No. FR-5337-N-01). These funds were also used for Iowa’s State Action Plan #2.

The State Action Plans state the purpose of how the CDBG funds will be allocated and the amount toward each purpose. These decisions are based upon the input of local leaders, elected or not, and the Rebuild Iowa (RIO) local staff (for Cedar Rapids, this was Ann Poe) and RIO’s Advisory Commission (RIAC). RIO’s various task forces would submit reports to RIAC for recommendations. These are the folks who state what the needs are and where the money should be allocated.

Local “representatives” – just WHO are they representing?
The RIO Housing Task Force included from Cedar Rapids, Jim Ernst and State Senator Rob Hogg.
The RIO Housing Resource Group included (among others) from Cedar Rapids, Drew Skogman of Skogman Homes and Katie Harms of OPN Architects.
The RIO Housing Task Force Report To the Rebuild Iowa Advisory Commission, dated August 2008 includes feedback from various areas around the State requesting buyouts. However, I can not find a single comment for buyouts for Cedar Rapids!

The State did not allocate any substantial funds towards CDBG (non-FEMA) buyouts until Amendment #4 of the 2nd allocation of the Second 2008 Act! Until then, they only allocated $10 million to this need in an earlier version of Action Plan #2. (There were NO funds allocated for CDBG buyouts nor landlords in Action Plan #1, while they allocated over $22 million to developers!)
Hmm… aren’t these local “leaders” SUPPOSED to be representing US? No wonder we had to wait so long for buyout funds.

About Ajai Dittmar

There is nothing 'radical' about wanting to save your historical neighborhood! There is nothing 'negative' for wanting an 'outside investigation' done a public service that has had a lot of embarrassing news, especially when they don't do their jobs! There is nothing 'odd' about wanting politicians to uphold the Constitution they swear to uphold when they are sworn into office! Follow @sibzianna View all posts by Ajai Dittmar

28 responses to “Local Leaders & Staff Lied About Having $ for Buyouts

  • cedarrapidsiowasmells

    Reblogged this on thecrsmells and commented:
    This is old news but worth reblogging

  • Social Networking

    Thanks for this great post. I look forward to coming back to see what you have up here next.

  • Nga Liedke

    I together with my buddies ended up reviewing the nice hints on your web site while suddenly developed a horrible feeling I never expressed respect to the website owner for those tips. Most of the guys were definitely for this reason thrilled to read through them and have in reality been tapping into them. We appreciate you really being simply kind and also for utilizing such beneficial areas millions of individuals are really desirous to be informed on. My personal honest regret for not expressing appreciation to sooner.

  • Antwan Boham

    A lot of thanks for your whole labor on this website. Betty delights in working on investigations and it’s obvious why. We all learn all of the compelling method you produce very helpful suggestions on the web site and therefore foster response from some others about this subject matter plus our own daughter has been becoming educated a lot of things. Enjoy the remaining portion of the year. You have been conducting a great job.

  • Burton Haynes

    This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

  • Republican

    The World Political landscape has went to hell over the past couple decades due to lack of civility. We need to rise up for our future and take back our world from Big Pharma, Big Tobbacco, Big Insurance and really just big corporations. It is time for our elections to stop being purchased.

  • Forum Komputerowe

    Very fascinating points you might have noted , thanks for putting up.

  • 2012 UEFA Euro Football Cup

    If the rings are lost, here are the fingers still.

  • Pozycjonowanie Wrocław

    I’d should verify with you here. Which isn’t 1 thing I often do! I get pleasure from reading a put up that will make individuals feel. Additionally, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  • Armani Perfume

    Much learning does not teach understanding. – Heraclitus

  • free demo games

    Zune and iPod: Most people compare the Zune to the Touch, but after seeing how slim and surprisingly small and light it is, I consider it to be a rather unique hybrid that combines qualities of both the Touch and the Nano. It’s very colorful and lovely OLED screen is slightly smaller than the touch screen, but the player itself feels quite a bit smaller and lighter. It weighs about 2/3 as much, and is noticeably smaller in width and height, while being just a hair thicker.

  • Molly

    Thank you for the great info! I would not have gotten this otherwise!

  • games online free play

    During the past few years I have discovered how you can play more productively. It calls for persistence.

  • free lotto games

    I have read up a whole lot and yet I still do not know the rules of the game fully.

  • blackjack

    Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

  • baccarat

    The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, but I actually thought youd have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could fix if you werent too busy looking for attention.

  • Hilda Thornley

    My spouse and i got so joyous Edward could carry out his investigation via the entire suggestions he came across while utilizing the weblog. It’s now and once more perplexing to just always be giving for totally free techniques which typically others may well have been selling. We actually remember we’ve got you to appreciate for this. The main explanations you’ve created, the easy website navigation, the relationships your web site aid to create – it’s got mostly fantastic, and it truly is aiding our son in addition towards the family feel that this problem is exciting, which is undoubtedly very fundamental. Thank you for all of the pieces!

  • Diety

    Welcome! I truly enjoy your blog and I will surely come back again, so I hope you’ll post some new articles.

  • Mildred Ihrke

    Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  • laptops

    I got it !!! thanks for all info will surely use it in my work and let you know how it goes 🙂

  • Grace Emms

    That was kind of inspiring! Totally surprising. Now I do know what I am going to do tomorrow 🙂 http://www.ctctradeshows.com

  • Shalon Kliem

    Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is fantastic, as well as the content!

  • cruises from baltimore

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Many thanks!

  • Lanelle Langen

    You have an interesting take on this topic. I am happy you shared your thoughts and I find myself agreeing. I really appreciate your clear writing style and the effort you have put into this piece. Thank you for the solid work and good luck with the blog, I look forward to updates in the future.

  • Emerson Arruda

    PAUL JOHANSSON DIRECTS THE EPISODE — Julian (Austin Nichols) makes Brooke (Sophia Bush) a startling offer. Lucas (Chad Michael Murray) brings Nathan (James Lafferty) and Jamie (Jackson Brundage) to an important place from his past, while Peyton (Hilarie Burton) prepares for the future. Sam (guest star Ashley Rickards, “Ugly Betty”) and Jack (guest star Evan Peters, “Invasion”) take a stand against the principal who fired Haley (Bethany Joy Galeotti). Skills (Antwon Tanner) takes Mouth (Lee Norris) on a road trip to get his mind off Millie (Lisa Goldstein). Paul Johansson directed the episode written by David Handelman (#619).

  • Win an iPad 64GB

    My brother suggested I would possibly like this web site. He was entirely right. This put up actually made my day. You cann’t consider simply how so much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

Feedback and Comments encouraged

