Strategies and Tactics in PR

I can’t figure out what I want to write so this is one of those moments I am going to just brainstorm—warm up my fingers because I have been on the go since 7:30 this morning.  The only way I can think to explain ‘strategies’ is to literally spell them out.  If I can’t think of anything to say at all- I know there is too much activity in my mind to make anything comprehensible come out in writing so I should just get it all out now to make room for the real message I am trying to get across.  That is what it’s all about isn’t it?

Am I where I want to be?  No, I feel like I am being pulled in twenty different directions and even though I love to know what is going on with everyone I feel like I have my finger in way too many pies—and it’s not really all that fun for me or anyone around me.  I am on the L.O.S.T. Oversight Committee, the Weed and Seed Steering Committee, the Victim Advisory Committee, and I am the Vice President of the Northwest Neighbors Neighborhood Association.  Once in a while and if I have the time—I will go to city council to advocate for the “Bat Education Center/tourist center” idea that I am very passionate about since learning more about bats over the last two years.  Sometimes I wish I would have never learned the saying “the squeaky wheel gets the grease” because I haven’t stopped making noise since.

I would like using the channel surfing metaphor as a ‘tactic’.  Life is a show and sometimes it takes getting out there and talking to people to find the right channel for you.  Sometimes getting on the right channel takes time. I was thankful there was a writer strike and that they played re-runs non-stop for months because it taught me about Youtube videos and how these videos could be used to send messages on just about any topic you could think of.

Randy Cole at Fundraiser for Victims of Crime

One ‘special event’ that I am involved in is a yearly fundraiser held at the Sixth Judicial Department of Correctional Services by the members of the Victim Advisory Committee.  Every November we invite vendors to come in and set up a booth to sell products that correctional workers will buy.  We also collect donations from local businesses that we are able to put into baskets to sell in our silent auction.  We spend at least six months planning the event and we use the money to help victims of crime with unmet needs.  One of the issues we have is we don’t know if our cliental (correctional workers) likes the vendors that we pick.   One suggestion was that we should consider conducting an internal survey to see what kind of vendors correctional workers would like to see there.

The Sixth Judicial Department of Correctional Services Victim Advisory Committee

Two skills needed to be an entry level public relations practitioner include writing and communicating.  The more ‘tools’ you have in your box the better.  Writing is essential because entry level practitioners might be required to write a press release or a pitch letter.  Being able to communicate using words as a form of communication is helpful when you use visuals to help guide you.

PR practitioners need to be concerned with ‘social media’ because it is quickly turning into the fastest growing form of communication on the face of the earth.  With internet and social network groups like Youtube and Facebook it makes it easier to get a message to a receiver for feedback.

About Ajai Dittmar

There is nothing 'radical' about wanting to save your historical neighborhood! There is nothing 'negative' for wanting an 'outside investigation' done a public service that has had a lot of embarrassing news, especially when they don't do their jobs! There is nothing 'odd' about wanting politicians to uphold the Constitution they swear to uphold when they are sworn into office! Follow @sibzianna View all posts by Ajai Dittmar

3 responses to “Strategies and Tactics in PR

Feedback and Comments encouraged

