Ellis Harbor in Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Today I jumped out of bed put my shirt on backwards and headed off to help my neighbors at the Ellis Boat Harbor clean up for Governor Chet Culver’s visit today to sign the Harbor Bill.  I never imagined I would ever be down there raking unless I was working for the city but there I was among neighbors getting our vintage harbor ready for it’s visit from the Governor.

While I was there I ran into Doris, Jennifer’s mom (Jennifer is one of my best friends and the mother of my brothers only son), who was a sight for sore eyes.  I haven’t seen her in years. I knew they had one boathouse but I didn’t know about the second one that was never recovered.  She and I spoke about her flood experience and I explained my fears of a boathouse hitting my home that sits on 1st Street NW in the “construction zone” in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

It was nice being down there.  I kept having memories of my late Uncle Bud who spent a lot of time on the Cedar River.  When I was a kid he had a pontoon boat parked adjacent to the Harbor.  I spent many summers on this peninsula and am happy I was there to see it being preserved myself.  When my uncle passed away I made it my mission  to support the organizations I know he would wanted to endorse.

I am thankful the people of the Harbor were able to save it.  Cedar Rapids has lost a lot of its vintage-the Ellis Boat Harbor is one piece of history we won’t have to worry about losing.  Thanks to everyone who was there to clean up and support the Harbor!

Oh and I even got a Chet Culver pen-lol

About Ajai Dittmar

There is nothing 'radical' about wanting to save your historical neighborhood! There is nothing 'negative' for wanting an 'outside investigation' done a public service that has had a lot of embarrassing news, especially when they don't do their jobs! There is nothing 'odd' about wanting politicians to uphold the Constitution they swear to uphold when they are sworn into office! Follow @sibzianna View all posts by Ajai Dittmar

7 responses to “Ellis Harbor in Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Feedback and Comments encouraged

